Perpetuating the problem

rebel all the wayI recently came across the latest blog post by erotica author Selena Kitt. Reading through it had me raising my fist in the air, shouting, “YES!!!” (Well, in my mind anyway. I don’t actually do things like that… really!) She basically wrote an EXCELLENT rebuttal to the email that Amazon recently sent out to all their KDP authors, asking them to rally behind Amazon in their dispute with the publishing company Hachette. It was, to say the least, inspirational.

Let me say, before going any further, I have great respect for Ms. Kitt. She’s been in this publishing game for years, and she has easily written at least ten times as many books as I have. But there are times when I find her just a little confusing.

I received the same email that Ms. Kitt did. Seeing it in my inbox did not fill me with the same sort of dread that she described. Of course, I only have five of my books listed with KDP. Not being enrolled in their KDP Select program, Amazon does nothing whatsoever to promote my books, and the last royalty payment I received from Amazon came to around four dollars and some-odd cents. Ms. Kitt, however, has dozens of books listed on Amazon, if not hundreds, so I can understand her trepidation in receiving the email, but I kind of had to chuckle just a bit when she claimed she has no horse in this race.

I mentioned in an earlier post that I just recently opened a Twitter account. Ms. Kitt was one of the first people that I followed. One of the first things I noticed was that Ms. Kitt tweets a lot. I mean, A LOT!!! Most of them being promotional tweets for her books. Usually her latest one. While to me, a novice, it seemed a little excessive, I figured hey, she’s the professional, it must work for her.

Her excessive tweeting was not an issue for me. Easy enough to scroll past them. What is an issue is how she links her books. Like 99 percent of all other erotica authors, she links her books to… you guessed it, their Amazon pages. And not just on Twitter, anytime I see her promoting her books on any social media outlet, the links are to Amazon!

That is the main thing that confuses me. I can understand somewhat that most erotica authors would do that, since most of them only submit to Amazon, and even if they do submit to other outlets they figure linking to Amazon will garner the most success. But Ms. Kitt’s books are available on a number of outlets, in fact she even has her own publishing company where they are obviously available. Instead of linking to her own website however, she continues to link to Amazon. While that may not make Ms. Kitt Amazon’s “bitch” (according to her own blog post), it’s certainly showing a generous amount of cleavage.

Unlike many, if not most erotica authors, especially ones just starting out, I have my own web page. (The very one you’re reading right now, thank you for visiting!)  Whenever I promote any of my books, whether through back matter or on social media, that’s where I link to. My web pages have a listing of every outlet that my books are available on, including the limited number that are available on Amazon. I never (well…almost never) link my books to their Amazon pages whenever I promote them. There are two main reasons for this: One, as mentioned previously, only five of my books are actually listed on Amazon. Amazon refuses to list my more “taboo” stories, and I refuse to water them down enough to “sneak them through”. And two, linking to Amazon only gives them more power. It only promotes them further, and in effect perpetuates the problem. Over and over again I see author after author treating Amazon like it’s the only game in town. And over and over again, I see Amazon shooting them down one by one.

I give kudos to Ms.Kitt for her excellent blog post. In a way it came just short of rallying erotica authors to join forces against Amazon. (Almost… but not quite.) At the very least, she gives whispered rumblings that the possibility for revolt is there. This was a departure from her usual posts concerning the subject of Amazon. Usually, while she offers scathing criticism of Amazon, she more often than not follows it with advise to other authors on how to “work around” Amazon’s roadblocks. Advise that she is constantly having to update. In this latest blog post, she offers no such advise.

Perhaps that signals a turning point.

Leave a Reply

Dark Alley Ramblings

Writer of Wrongs

E B Books

Dark and Taboo Erotica

Secret Playgrounds

Taboo erotica by Forrest Young

Cate Aria

Author of Taboo Erotica

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Carnaltopia

Quality erotica for discerning readers...by the award-winning authors of “The Hazard Chronicles” and “The Promise Papers.”

Boruma Publishing

Indie Publishing With A Personal Touch

A Sexual Being

Where the lines of fantasy and reality blur…

Pillow Talk

Erotica Writers Talking Dirty

Secret Playgrounds

Taboo erotica by Forrest Young

Honey Bliss

A Lot's Cave Author Blog

Lily Weidner

Author of Incest Erotica

Nudge Wink Wink

discovering the worlds of secret pleasures

Shady Lady Fairy Tales

Madeleine Shade

Superotica

Erotic fiction and non-fiction by Tamsin Flowers

Author Heather Keyes

Erotic author mf, mff, ff, mmf, bdsm, etc

Rachel Woe

Filthy dirty prose.

Christina Mandara

Erotica, BDSM, Bondage and More...

Missy Jubilee's Vagina

My sex life from the Inside Out. At a speed of 80,000 words per year

Michael Dalton

Virtue, Vice, and Everything in Between

Doris Dawn - Mature Model.

Romantic Stories. Erotic Pictures. The most exquisite ingredients for an everlasting marriage.

Lianah Morgan

Erotica for everyone.

Author C. Shields

A Blog for Updates on Author C.Shield's Work

BSI

Commentary, recommendations, shipping

vonicacolt

Just a girl trying to make her way on this rock.

Familiar Attraction

Exploring Incest In Popular Culture & Mainstream Fiction Including; Film, Television & Literature.

Sensual Little Nymph

Treat me like a lady, fuck me like a whore!

K. C. Cave

erotic writer

Author, Robin Juliet

where lust and love collide

Lot's Cave Publishing

Family Exotica & Romance eBooks

The Undie Drawer

Warning: Contents May Be Hot

LeTeisha Newton

International Bestselling Author

The MSF Project

Fictional Adult Sex Stories Exploring The Mother-Son Fantasy

Self Publishing Advisor

Self publishing advice from writing to marketing and everything in-between.

Erotica Explored

Where hedonism is a way of life

Life's Forbidden Pleasures

Erotic Poetry and Short Stories

My Little Book Blog

Book reviews and all things books by Lizzy Baldwin

Sexual Intelligence

Sex--and Culture, Politics, the Media--and Sex, by Dr. Marty Klein

Kristina's Dirty Little Stories

Dirty Notions from My Sweet Little Mind

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

